

Serving on Council

The Council is the College's governing body.

Council consists of 15 members, seven of whom are physicians elected by their peers to represent physicians of the province in two electoral divisions described in the *Medical Act, 2011*. The Minister of Health and Community Services appoints a total of six members to Council, including two nominated by the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association, one nominated by the Board of Regents of Memorial University, and three non-physicians chosen by the Minister specifically to represent the public interest. The Registrar and Deputy Registrar are non-voting members of Council.

The Council meets at least four times a year. In addition to attending the quarterly meetings, members will be called upon to serve on one or more of the committees of Council:

- Complaints Authorization Committee
- Finance and Audit Committee
- Governance Committee
- Licensing Committee
- Public Engagement Committee
- Quality Assurance Committee

Council members are reimbursed for both Council and committee meetings.