About the College

The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador regulates the practice of medicine in the public interest.

It is governed by a 15-member Council which includes the Registrar and Deputy Registrar, who are medical practitioners, and are ex-officio members.

Of the remaining 13 members, seven are licensed medical practitioners elected by their peers and six are appointed by the Minister of Health and Community Services. Two of the six are nominated by the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association. Of the remaining four appointed by the minister, three are public members and are not medical practitioners; one is appointed from a list submitted by the Board of Regents of Memorial University.

The College fulfills its mission by:

  • Setting qualifications for registration and licensure;
  • Conducting a rigorous licensing process;
  • Investigating complaints;
  • Conducting disciplinary hearings;
  • Setting standards for ethical, professional behaviour;
  • Setting standards for medical practice;
  • Promoting continued competence;
  • Registering professional medical corporations (PMCs); and
  • Maintaining physician registers.


Quality healthcare in Newfoundland and Labrador through the regulation of the medical profession in the public interest.


Quality of Service
Social Responsibility
Inclusivity and Diversity

Choose Menu 23